mandrillhardge

Broadway, a dream come true!!

In Beauty, Broadway, Film Crew, Freelance Hair Stylist, Hair Care, Hair Stylist, Mandrill Hardge, New York, NYC, Production Set, Uncategorized on December 30, 2013 at 5:35 am

2013-12-29 21.23.49

Have you ever whispered something to yourself and then started to dream about it…..and then it happens? That is how I felt last week when my whisper became reality!!

Two years ago, I was afforded the opportunity to work on the taping of The Rickey Smiley Show in Atlanta. While taping I became friends with Ms. Roz Ryan (known for her role as Amelia, one of the sisters on the 80s TV show Amen!). Ms. Ryan was and is a wealth of industry knowledge and shared stories of Broadway performances and almost instantly I said, ” I want to work there”!

Shortly, after my move to NYC, I reconnected with Ms. Ryan who set up a meeting with the Head of Hair Styling for the Broadway musical Chicago (which happens to be the longest running show on Broadway and Ms. Ryan received an award this past October for the longest running actress to play the role of Mama Morton!). After meeting the Head, I was offered a swing position in the department and my dream became reality.

My first show was Friday, December 19, 2013 for the evening show. I was nervous and anxious at the same time. It was my job to style for the some of the leading roles including Mama Morton and Mary Sunshine, so I was to make very sure that their lace fronts were just as fabulous as their performances.

I arrive backstage and begin laying all of the tools needed to style and secure the wigs, pieces and lace fronts. I check the listing sheet and strategically plan for the evening. From dressing rooms upstairs to actual applications in my styling area, I had a plan that was going to make my evening run smoothly and impressively.

The curtains rise and as I watch the TV monitors in back, I am so proud of my work on stage and even more proud to be the first Black Hair Stylist* to hold this position!

What an amazing experience with many more to take place. So I say to all that have a dream, vision or aspiration…keep moving forward with that in mind. You can achieve it, you can make it happen. Believe in yourself, know your craft, keep a good character and know that your turn will come.

*Disclaimer: other actresses have brought in their own stylist but not another has been employed by the show to style all wigs)

Leave a comment